True indepent practice = go to med school. Not PA or NP school

While working in a big hospital I realized that almost all midlevels just follow orders from senior physicians and truly make no individual decisions. Sometimes, we come up with some great ideals but instead of getting praised these physicians dismiss them.  Recently, I came across a few urgent care centers that is run by PA's. That is the only time mid-levels seemed independent. Unless this OTP thing passes and we get more independence I don't think our profession is not that great.  I Just gotta study my butt off to get 99% on MCAT and go to NYU med for free lol.

This is highly variable. Lots of solo PA EDs. In the military they are very independent. Plenty of CT PAs managing the post op CVICU patients. Critical care PAs in my hospital manage their own panel of patients. Other than while I’m a resident, I’ve never had or plan on having any management dictated to me unless I’m calling the consultant.

I agree with the variability. I worked in rural health and under served areas for many years and I often would see or speak to my SP for weeks and weeks.

Now I am in a big system and what you describe holds pretty true but the physicians are nagged just as much by rule makers and committees and policy and procedure as we are.

In every practice, I've been pretty much independent, and not have to run patients by anyone.  Granted, it's primary care, but since everything falls back to us, it's pretty big.