Hospital CEO

9 hours ago, YourAveragePA said:

The current director of my facility (VA hospital/medical center) is a DNP.  No other degrees (MBA, MHA, MPA, MPH, etc).   Of the 7 people in the directors suite, aside from the Medical Director and Chief of Staff (both are MDs), everyone else is either an RN or NP.  

Do you work at the VA? I have 10 years of EM experience and have an upcoming interview with them next week in pain management. Position was opened to only physician assistant and when I went to look at other positions available, there was none for PAs. However, there were multiple listings for primary care, dermatology, etc. for NPs. I called HR to discuss and they weren't able to provide much details other than I needed a "NP license" to apply for those positions. I have a feeling the VA in my city is heavily NPs which raises a concern for me if I ever want a lateral movement/change at that facility. Thoughts? 

The VA, like most other hospital systems, has tons of nurses in leadership positions and very few PAs. Also NPs are independent practitioners and we aren't. Sound familiar? It should because it is that way nationally and is only getting worse.

The VA is still the largest employer of PAs in the country. There are a lot of opportunities but they vary place to place because it is up to leadership to decide who each position gets advertised to.

It can be a maddening place to work but so can corporate medicine. Pay is good and bennies are great.

I do work for the VA and am friends with a few PAs that have regional/administrative type positions.  What has been happening lately is that most APP jobs lately have either solely been posted for NPs or it's dual posted for NP/PA.  What happens most often is that the staff that filter the applicants are most often RNs or NPs themselves, therefore it is very, very difficult to beat out an NP for a position.  In rare cases, the MDs have a preference for PAs and they push for it.