Hello, 

I am a pharmacist seeking advice on becoming a PA. 

I have several friends who are PAs and according to them, they are very happy with their profession which is the main reason I want to make the transition. Pharmacy is a dead profession with no foreseeable improvement in the near future. Over saturation and 0% predicted job growth in the next decade. 

First and foremost, I would like your opinion on how difficult or competitive it would be as a practicing pharmacist to be accepted to a PA program. 

I have BS in bio, MS in Neuroscience, Pharm.D.,  4 years of experience as a pharmacist, 3 years of clinical research and published 2 papers prior to becoming a pharmacist. 

There are two programs near where I live. One requires me to retake my prereqs since it's been more than 10 years but will waive GRE due to my professional degree. The other program will accept all my prereqs no matter how old but won't waive GRE even with my professional degree or b/c it's been more than 5 years since I took GRE. To save time and effort, I'm assuming just retaking GRE would be better in this case? How much of weight do PA programs put on GRE vs. everything else I accomplished? 

Thanks for your input. 

At the VA you can practice as a PharmD, prescribe and have your own clinic comanaging diseases with PCPs such as CHF, COPD, DM and HTN. We are always in need of PharmDs at my location. 

This might give you the fulfillment you need without more school.

Just a thought.

I do think you would have great advantage in selection with your history. And you sound motivated!

• Like 2

25 minutes ago, Reality Check 2 said:

At the VA you can practice as a PharmD, prescribe and have your own clinic comanaging diseases with PCPs such as CHF, COPD, DM and HTN. We are always in need of PharmDs at my location. 

This might give you the fulfillment you need without more school.

Just a thought.