Hi guys, I hope to see if I can get any guidance about my current situation.

I am a new-to-practice PA and started my job in CT surgery in February of this year. I graduated in August of last year. I am working in inpatient cardiac surgery and am currently still on orientation, but I am feeling quite overwhelmed and starting to wonder if this is not the right opportunity for me to have taken on as my first job out of school. To provide some background, the team I work on is 95% NPs, 5% PAs. The team is predominantly comprised of NPs that have had years of experience working on either the cardiac surgery floor or in the surgical ICU prior to becoming NPs. There is another new-to-practice PA that came about a year and a half before me, but I am the second new-to-practice PA that they have taken a chance with hiring. There is one other seasoned PA who has prior experience. I say "taken a chance with hiring" because the new-to-practice PA that had come before me was the trailblazer in that my manager was testing the waters to see whether new grads would be able to make it on this floor. PAs are typically in the OR for CT surgery where I work. The new-to-practice PA was on the verge of leaving but was encouraged to stay with the promise of an extension to her length of orientation (from 3 months to 6 months) and with her demanding that changes be made to how orientation for any future new-grad PAs be handled.