Hello! I am a new grad graduation 6/2022, super interested in working EM.  I have an offer that seems reasonable, but would love input. 

- $57/hr for 6 months orientation, 130-150 hours/month, FT benefits start at 108 hrs/month.  

- $65/hr starting month 7; RVUs additional per hour and bonuses additional.  
-medical, dental, life insurance, malpractice with tail coverage

-10% employer 401k contribution starting after 3 months. 

-$4500 business expense/cme budget year 1, $2500 following years.  I believe licensing is responsibility of employee.   

- Aim for providers to average 2.2 patients/hour after orientation.  APPs and docs evenly see fast track and higher acuity.  No solo coverage, always doc on site and see level 1 acuity together or docs see level 1.  They sound very supportive, but want PAs to function to top of license with procedures, see acuity etc. I would like feedback about how reasonable this pace is.  

-** $10,000 fee if leave before 2 year anniversary for any reason.  Exact wording if if employee ceases FT employment before 2 year anniversary.  I assume this means is terminated or chooses to leave.  

This is an EM physician owned hiring group.  The culture seems good. They have a structured orientation and continued training for APPs.  Love the supportive culture from experienced APPs and docs with emphasis on functioning to top of license with support.  Training for intubation, LP, running codes etc. but no solo coverage for APPs.  This is midwestern small city.  Pay is significantly higher than other opportunities I have seen.  This area can also be difficult to find new grad EM job.  

-I honestly plan to accept.  Just want to make sure the $10,000 fee for leaving prior to 2 years isn’t completely ridiculous and seeing 2.2 pt/hr is reasonably attainable.   

Thank you! 

Edited by Lk56123
  • Upvote 1

Sounds like the benefits package from one of the big 3 EM staffing companies.  Financially, it's not a bad deal.