Starting entry level salary for a new PA who just passed the PANCE Exam?

Hello everyone,

I am a current PA student finishing up my clinical rotations and I graduate in December 2013. I was wondering if anyone could give me some input on the starting salary for an entry level PA who just passed the PANCE Exam and who has no PA experience. Perhaps you yourself just landed your first job, or you know a PA who did, and you could shed some light on the topic. I know a lot of it depends on what specialty area, where in the United States, ect... but I am trying to get some feedback and prepare now, so when all my mounting bills and loans start to come due I have an idea of where I may stand financially.

I am looking specifically for entry level PA salary for the Tampa/St. Petersburg/Clearwater area and in orthopedics/orthopedic surgery, but I would also be curious to see the entry level salary for other specialty areas in that same general region. That being said, anyone that has any info on entry level PA salaries for those who just passed the PANCE Exam, in any specialty, anywhere in the United States, that could be helpful as well.

I myself actually do have some orthopedic experience, just not as a PA. I worked as an athletic trainer for approximately the last 10 years, with the last 3 years of the 8 working for an orthopedic surgeon. I worked roughly 60-70% of the time in the office in the capacity much like a LPN/MA would, and the remaining 30-40% of my time I performed sports medicine/clinical outreach to local high school/college sporting events. I am not sure if this experience could help with negotiations of salary for an orthopedic PA position or not, but I am sure that it probably couldn’t hurt.

Any advice or information would be greatly appreciated, thank you in advance for any input that you might be able to give.

Sean

• Upvote 1