How have PRN jobs ended for you all?

I have been working once weekly regularly for almost 2 years at a position. I just saw my schedule for next month and I am no longer on the schedule at all. I get that I am no longer "needed", and that is fine as the position implies the risk, but how have you all been let go from this type of position? I guess I would have appreciated more than a week and a half notice before I knew about the upcoming pay cut/job loss. 

Same thing happened to me in DFW at a very popular Urgent Care.  Worked there almost 2 years and saved their butts on multiple occasions when someone would call in sick.  Then one month...no shifts.  Then the next...no shifts.  So I moved on.  About 3 months later I got a frantic "can you help us!!!" phone call.  Umm nope.  I'm busy.

• Upvote 5

• Administrator

The challenge of working such gigs is just that: when they desparately need you, you're usually working elsewhere.  I find that it's easy enough to cover for scheduled vacations, but hard to cover for sick providers.

It's a lot less traumatic to quit a part time job, and a lot less ego involved in going back to one if it makes sense.

• Upvote 1

I work PRN as a Hospitalist. Comes in spurts when they need vacation coverage, but they have me scheduled out several months in advance. They have me teaching the NPs (I’m the only PA) POCUS, so hopefully they plan on keeping me about. They are also solo Hospitalist and don’t report to anyone, so they only hire people with several year experience, or a residency. Makes me feel pretty secure about them.

1 hour ago, LT_Oneal_PAC said: