Lynchburg College DMSc

Just curious of what everyone's thoughts are about the Lynchburg College DMSc program? This seems like a pretty big advancement, a doctoral level degree being offered for PAs by a PA school but I haven't been able to find much discussion about it.  Personally I think it's a pretty fair program that gives the opportunity to enhance clinical knowledge and learn some basics of hospital admin/leadership. 

• Upvote 2

• 1 year later...

Birddogpa - Did you do it (DMSc from Lynchburg)?  I just applied.  If so, Im sure you are done now.  Curious what you're doing. I graduated from PA school 9 years ago.  I figure I will pursue it because after 10 years... it may give me more options.... whether I exercise my options right away or down the road. 

• Upvote 1

• 4 weeks later...
8 minutes ago, sas5814 said:

It also begs the question.... Med schools are talking about shrinking to 3 years. We go to entry level doctorate. Why not go to med school? Still have that pesky residency....

My understanding is there a pushback on the 3 year programs. The old guard looks down on them cause they went through 4 years and hate to see others that did not do the same. However, in my circumstance I hope the schools i apply to all change to 3 years. 

58 minutes ago, brandonhughey said:

Still forming my opinions on ENTRY level doctorates... Cost seems like an issue... PAs make ok $$$ but many doctoral programs now-a-days are $100k+ tuition. What are your thoughts?

entry level doctoral program likely not more than MS + DMSc. might as well get it done with and save yourself a year. it is not any longer than an ms program.

• Upvote 1

3 minutes ago, EMEDPA said:

and mcats...and ochem...and biochem...

Medical schools are moving away from required prereqs. Now these schools do have "recommended course work" which may be a euphemism for prerequisite. Two off the top of my head are Vandy and Wake.

Edited by PAtoMD
clarification

On 4/5/2019 at 4:02 PM, EMEDPA said: