How is it out there??

After two job changes since 2020

job 1 running entire practice and Nursing home through Covid paid a little better then new grad 

job 2 was supposed to be better but then corporate changed things.  Gave raises to everyone but senior staff, mandated unpaid call, so on and so forth.   When they tried to give me a pay reduction to the same as a new grad I quit to start my own practice. 

I am now happy and content.  Work is a happy place.  Will be a lot happier when starting to make a profit. 

my question.  I am out of the corp game now and wondering if it is getting any better or still just being beaten down by management.  Under appreciated.  Used by management to make the docs lives better.  So on and so forth.  

what’s it like out there??

• Upvote 2

15 hours ago, rev ronin said:

As a practice owner, I looked at the July 1 updates, and find I get... 2% across the board for everything from my major insurer. Hmm. THAT isn't going to keep up with inflation.

Other than that, loving it.

Better then my last employer who asked me to take a pay cut!

• Sad 1

22 hours ago, ventana said:

I am now happy and content.  Work is a happy place.  Will be a lot happier when starting to make a profit. 

Congrats! That's great news.

my question.  I am out of the corp game now and wondering if it is getting any better or still just being beaten down by management.  Under appreciated.  Used by management to make the docs lives better.  So on and so forth.  

Same same. Got an offer from a big hospital system but declined due to some red flags with admin, mandatory OT (for current staff for past year and foreseeable future due to understaffing), etc. Immediate team seemed great, though. 

what’s it like out there??

Doing PRN and traveling for the past year and loving it. 

I work for the govt and would not go back to corporate or private unless The Marvel Universe Blip really happened.