Do you plan on making a trip out here?

So, I have been a brand new PA-C for about 2 weeks now. I have been searching for work for the past 2 months to no avail. I currently live in MT and only have a limited amount of money in the bank. I have taken telephone interviews over the phone with Medford and Corvallis, OR. Both places are ENT practices, although I was trained in family medicine. The phone interviews go fine, however at the end they both said something to the tune of, "So do you plan on making a trip out her in the near future?" implying that I will travel to Oregon for these interviews. 

I have told them both that I do not have any immediate plans to visit due to my finances. I also ask if it would be possible if I could receive some financial assistance to come and interview. When I mentioned this to Medford they said, let me check... I haven't heard anything from them going on 2 weeks. I recently sent an email to Corvallis explaining that:

1. I am a new grad with limited finances

2. By my coming out to Corvallis is no guarantee of being hired.

3. I am out at least +$800.00 for travel, lodging, food, etc.

Am I out of line by my thought process? Is this this the norm for recruiting? Does anyone have any other experiences relating to this? Advice?

I appreciate your time reading this. 

yeah....that's kinda how it goes.  Smaller groups often can't afford to fly out and house/feed every potential job applicant.  Sometimes they can meet you in the middle and cover your hotel/food.....or even say they'll reimburse you after 6 months if you take the job.  Bigger groups sometimes will pay the cost if they're desperate enough.....but being a new grad puts you at a disadvantage compared to experienced ENT PAs.    You could see if Amtrac is cheaper....or just drive it.   

Good luck

• Upvote 1

Many many years ago I interviewed in Oregon by phone from Texas.