Telehealth work

I have been contacted by a recruiting firm for a telehealth job. So far, I don’t know any further details regarding the work. I have an interview in a week. I’m a new grad and since I don’t know anyone who works in this modality, I thought I’d ask... what do you guys know about telehealth? What are your thoughts about it, especially for a new grad? Thank you!

• Administrator

I can't imagine it would be a remotely good idea for a new grad--it'd be like locums, only worse.  Instead of having a bunch of disinterested people who couldn't care less about you whom you MIGHT bounce things off of... you'd be working with... whom, exactly?

• Like 2
  • Upvote 1

I do tele triage as my per diem gig. For reference, I had about 4 years as a hospitalist PA prior to starting this gig on the side. There is definitely a learning curve because you have to determine: a)do they need the ER? b) can they go to UC instead? c) can they monitor at home and follow up later. I am used to managing heart failure, rapid afib, etc but when you cannot see the patient and perform an exam, get labs---it is very easy to become extremely conservative and lump people into a and b, and that was with 4 years experience in a hospital setting.

I love the gig now because it's fairly easy and I can safely triage, but I cannot imagine the anxiety it would cause if this was my first job out of school. No  thanks. 

• Like 1
  • Upvote 2

• 1 month later...
1 hour ago, rookiejay said:

Im looking for this kind of work, how did you find it? 

I submitted an application for an advertised position and then went in for a video interview. The company that recruits is called On Time Talent Solutions, look them up and see if they’re interviewing in your area. 

• Like 1

• 9 months later...
On 5/12/2019 at 2:25 AM, SamthePA said: