How much work do you do at home?

I'm a relatively new grad and have been working in primary care for about 7 months now. I see about 15 patients/day and I am feeling overwhelmed by the amount of work I have. I write most of my notes write after seeing the patient, but usually by the end of the day I still have a couple things to finish on some notes. On top of that I have telephone encounters, labs, documents, and refill requests to review. I also like to prep my charts the day before so I know what I'm going to be seeing the next day. All of this amounts to being at work from about 7 AM (going in 1 hr early) to 5:30 PM and then doing about an hour of work at home. Lately I've been feeling like most of my life during the week is just work. I also don't think this situation is just because I'm new. The MD and PA I work with, both with 20 yrs of experience, do the same thing. It's making me feel burnt out from primary care and I've hardly just started. 

How much work do you do at home each day? What specialty are you in?

37 minutes ago, mgriffiths said:

zero - work in FP and see on average ~20 patients...of course it varies some, like today I saw 28.  It was h3!!, but in the door at 7:55am (start at 8am) and out the door with my desk 100% clear at 5:30pm (last patient scheduled 4:40 or maybe 4:50).  Usually I'm out the door between 5-5:15pm.

Any tips for doing this? I feel like most of my day is spent just seeing patients and this leaves little time for labs, call back, documents, refills, etc. 

Don't do any work at home.  Are you thinking "I'll just finish this at home"?  Because that might lead to you (maybe unconsciously) either working slower at work or actually putting it off until you get home- because you know you have a safety net, you slack off a bit and use your safety net as part or your work flow.

Aside from that, try tightening up your work flow.  Where are areas that are time wasters?