How to Calculate Experience Hours?

I have searched the forums regarding my question, however I mostly come up with people asking about what type of jobs count towards HCE/PCE. My question is a little different from what I have seen during my search. I have experience as an EMT and as a Paramedic, and I am currently a firefighter/paramedic (mostly assigned to an ambulance). I work 24 hours on and 48 hours off in a busy 911 system. I am years away from completing my pre-reqs, but I am curious how HCE/PCE is calculated when I go to apply for schools. Do I count all 24 hours for each shift towards experience hours? I ask because I am obviously not with a patient for the entire shift. Some days I might only see 1 or 2 patients and other days I could see 15. Thanks for any clarification you can send my way.

yes, count all hours. some schools(maybe 5) ask medics to break down hours into pt care/non-pt care, which I don't think is fair because other professions are not asked to do this. when I applied I had worked as a medic as well. 24 hr shifts, 10/mo x # years worked is what I gave them. this was probably an underestimation as it did not include overtime. I imagine if your # is > 10,000 as mine was that they won't quibble over a few hrs here and there.

The current CASPA has you put down the average number of hours per week and the number of weeks worked for your job. Nothing further. So...

count them all....they don't make nurses subtract time spent at potlucks or on break after all....which can amount to maybe a third of each shift....:)

Ok that makes me feel better seeing as that puts me over 9,000 right now and probably close to 20,000 by the time I apply. Thanks for the info.

even if forced to count 50% of your hrs as non-pt care you would still be over 10,000 hrs at application, putting you in the top 5% of likely applicants with regards to hce hrs.