I am a student and graduating in July 14. I have a unique situation where I was forced to take off a year with only 4 rotations left from graduation due to an academic suspension (not grade related). I am interested in venturing into a surgical field in the south. Has anyone encountered or know of a student that had a challenge with the hiring pocess due to a similar scenario. I have excellent letters of rec from preceptors but am concerned that my tainted past will haunt me. Ideas/suggestions/advice?

• Administrator

If the school is wrong, fight the school.  Be prepared for academic governance committees that are inertia-bound, to pay a lawyer a lot, and to get no apology even if you are successful.

If the school is right, I suggest you take the time off and either hide or take a non-healthcare-related job, because anything you CAN put on your resume for that time period is going to screw up any hope you will have of it looking normal thereafter.

Your resume will say: "PA School Such-and-such, graduated July 2014." Unless you give them a reason, no one will question that graduation date or think you might have been in school longer than normal.

I'm so curious about what could be so bad to merit a full year suspension from a program, but not bad enough to merit a dismissal from the program. Just enough time for all your original classmates to have moved on... but what does the school expect you to do/experience/change in that year that makes it okay for you to continue?