Songs to pump or chill you

I am a BIG AUDIOPHILER, so I was wondering what others songs pump or help you chill to make your day or whether you are having a hard day cramming for a test or a late night/day at the hospital/clinic/office - which ones will you be adding to your pre-shift playlist? I also need my Cowon player to play all of my music.

I like Loverboy "Working for the Weekend" - It's the ultimate top-down, hair-blowing-in-the-wind full blast anthem of all time.

Now, if I just want to 'chill' I do like Pink Floyd, perhaps "Dark Side of the Moon" or Brian Eno "Ambient 1: Music for Airports"

• Administrator

I've been listening to Owl City lately. It's quite upbeat. I have zero tolerance for contemporary radio, but I get copies of anything my kids buy on iTunes, (my account is the "family" account) so I get to try what they like...

But, since I've been accumulating CDs for ~22 years, I have over a month of music on my iTunes by now, so I have a quite eclectic mix of stuff if I want...

Hi Rev I actually have heard of Own City and I do like them quite a bit. As I mentioned I have quite a bit of music ranging from LPs, EPs, Lossless (audio format uses an algorithm to compress audio data so the original sound source is exactly preserved) with a collection with FLACs (a musical file format that offers bit-perfect copies of CDs) and vinyl and of course CDs as well as SACDs (RedBook Layer) Audio Fidelty, etc etc

I wish I knew who some of those artists are! I guess this is a very generational thread!

I got through PA school by studying to new age music and what you now can listen to on Pandora's Danny White or Time-Warner's Soundscapes channels. Anything else and I couldn't concentrate. And, believe me, I NEEDED to concentrate!

To get fired up, it's old school for me:

I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For by U2

Walk of Life by Dire Straits

Go Your Own Way by Fleetwood Mac

Here I am by Patty Lovelace

The House that Built Me by Miranda Lambert