An hour commute with 12 hour shifts?

Hi! 

I am a new graduate, and looking into job opportunities. Wondering if anyone has insight into what it's like commuting an hour for 12 to 16 hour shifts (about shifts 3 per week)? I'm looking into surgical specialities, and one got back to me regarding this type of schedule. In theory I'm totally fine with the commute, but just looking for someone with experience doing this and your opinion on it. Thank you so much!! 

• Like 1

I did this in my younger years. It sucks.

I worked in an urban ER that took about an hour (hour and a half in the rain)  to get to in heavy traffic in a metropolitan area. 

Then I did a 12-15 hour shift depending on paperwork and charting. 

On more than one occasion - I had to call my husband to come drive me home because I would have fallen asleep at the wheel - in my late 20s. 

I wouldn't do that now for any amount of money. 

The only blessing was that I only had to work 10 shifts a month back then and NEVER put them back to back. No kids back then. 

Now, I do days and days only. The only thing that works for my body and my family. 

• Upvote 2

I see only one benefit to this.  It gives you an hour to wind down between work and home.  I'd get home from an ED shift after midnight and sit at my computer perusing the web for an hour or so just to get wind down ("wound down", thanks autocorrect) enough to be able to go to bed.  I'd be concerned about falling asleep as well as RC2 mentioned.

Edited by GetMeOuttaThisMess

Is it a 12 hour day shift or night shift? Night shift is not worth it as you can fall asleep behind the wheel, no $ is worth the risk. Not to mention you'll probably be hitting the morning commute traffic home if you're in an urban metropolitan area. Day shift is much more do-able since you only gotta deal with commuting 3x a week.