Is PA political activism alienating PAs?

Is PA political activism alienating PAs?  

47 members have voted

1. 1. Have you ever resigned from, allowed membership to lapse, or never joined a PA national or state organization due to their political stances?

• Yes, AAPA, because of medicine/professional related issues (e.g. name change)
    • Yes, AAPA, because of non-medical-related political activism
    • Yes, my state org, because of medicine/professional related issues (e.g., name change)
    • Yes, my state org, because of non-medical-related political activism
    • No
  2. 2. State Org Membership?

• I am currently a dues paying professional member of my state organization
    • I am not a dues paying professional member of my state organization
  3. 3. AAPA membership?

• I am currently a dues paying professional member of AAPA
    • I am not a dues paying professional member of AAPA

• Administrator

So, I'm pondering why people aren't members of either AAPA or their state organization, and one thing that occurs to me is that there are quite likely reasons unrelated to money that drive some PAs away from their organizations.  I've made no secret of the fact that the AAPA's decision to disinvite Ben Carson prompted me to not renew my membership and remain outside the AAPA for several years. Am I the only one?  Or are there other folks out there who have stayed away or become non-members based on the political direction of their organizations?  If you feel comfortable stating your current or past objections, feel free to do so, but this is a POLL, and we can start other threads to argue whether the AAPA should or should not take a stand on e.g. immigration policy or whatever.

• Like 1
  • Upvote 1

Rev I'd suggest the reverse question because it recently came up in a conversation with some folks in leadership. have you ever decided not to join because the org ISN'T doing anything you consider politically valuabe.