Biggest challenge of being a PA

Hello Everyone!

I am a pre-PA student, and I wanted some insight as to what the biggest challenge a PA may face? Or what are some political aspects of being a PA? I just want some first hand knowledge from those who are practicing. I have asked a few that I work with but I want more input. 

Thanks! 

Biggest challenge: making decisions as md's but with less training, especially during the first few years after graduation; eventually you will catch up (in terms of experience/knowledge) but it takes time, dedication, study to get there. Until then you just hope and pray that no one gets hurt by your mistakes. 

Professionally the biggest challenge is competency in the first few years. You wont realize how much you dont know until you are working. Expectations often dont line up with your level of training.

After you get your feet under you it's probably dealing with the ever-present unfairness administrators and MDs levy against PAs. You wont ever be treated the same as a doc, dont let anyone fool you. You might be close in some measures, but not a true peer.

Professionally the biggest challenge is competency in the first few years. You wont realize how much you dont know until you are working. Expectations often dont line up with your level of training.
After you get your feet under you it's probably dealing with the ever-present unfairness administrators and MDs levy against PAs. You wont ever be treated the same as a doc, dont let anyone fool you. You might be close in some measures, but not a true peer.

This.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

1 hour ago, ventana said:

later in career

dealing with pointless supervision and having to figure out what this SP wants and to what detail (in spite of knowing that you are practicing good medicine)