failed out. What to do?

i failed out of PA school. The 2nd semester i was put on probation for cum. gpa below 3.0. 3rd semester i was unable to raise my gpa. I tried my hardest and studied non-stop. I can't image having worked harder.

Now I am 31 years old and over $220,000 in debt due to educational expenses. I have a bachelor's and a master's degress in Biology, which are both pretty worthless in solving my financial scenario. I have not idea what do to

• Administrator

First, stop, take a deep breath, and don't rush into anything.  What's done is done, and waiting a few weeks to decide where to go from here is hardly going to make anything any worse.

Next, let's get a bit more detail on your program: are they offering to let you restart in a future class, or are they just telling you to hit the road?  Honestly, if you've failed out of one program, the program that's most likely to take you is going to be the one who kicked you out.  Whether or not you want to go is a separate matter--the first question is *CAN* you try again?

If you haven't already, I highly recommend buying a current copy of What Color Is Your Parachute? and both reading it cover-to-cover and doing the exercises.  On the chance that you are not going to be able to get into PA school at all, you need to have some alternatives.

You also need to let your support network, whomever that is for you, know that you've had this setback.  Not that they'll be able to fix anything, but they probably care enough to help in meaningful ways, that may vary based on what your situation and needs are.

I did not meet the GPA requirement after being placed on academic probation. They said I can reapply for the class that begins in 12 months but their is no guarantee I will be accepted. I will try again but they insisted I apply to other schools, as well. I do not have any alternatives, unless I want to go the RN->BSN->NP route.