Feeling Hopeless

Hi Everyone, 

I am 25 years old. I graduated UCLA with a bachelor's degree in biology. My overall GPA is 2.95, and my science GPA is a mere 2.2. I went through a lot during my college years, but doesn't change my stats. 

I would like to know if anyone could provide any help or advice. Are there any schools who will look at my application? I am willing to go to any accredited school in the states. 

I have all types of volunteering and patient-care experience needed. Letters of rec from physicians and PA's will not be a problem. I just don't know what I can do at this point.

I appreciate your input. Thank you.

I wish that I could give you encouragement that you could jump to PA school from the platform you find yourself on. PA programs are doable but tough and a 2.2 science average will not inspire confidence.

While CASPA averages things so that your old grades never go away, the only way I can think of is for you to build an entirely new track record. It wouldn't be a sure thing and it would take time and money: you would have to retake most -- if not all of your science classes -- required by PA programs and do really well. You would also have to get really good healthcare experience. It would take years. 

Nothing is ever truly hopeless, but neither is there a magic wand. You have not destroyed your future by your past performance, but you will have to work a lot harder than most if you want to follow this path.

Best of luck in whatever you decide to do.

I was going to advise the DO route as well, or look at Western which uses grade replacement or one of the few programs that consider last 45-60 credits. Another option is an accelerated RN-> NP since you have your BS. Honestly do to the time / money investment involved I think NP or DO would be a better route.