What does a hospitalist PA do?

Hi, I'm a pre-PA student and I'm trying to get an idea of the different specialties PA's operate in and find one that may peak my interest. Though PA school is still a ways away and choosing a specialty to begin with is even further, I want to begin at least learning the most popular specialties and what they do. One specialty I've seen a little bit of info about is hospitalist medicine. Technically speaking, I've seen it referred to as inpatient care. Now don't jump all over me saying I don't know what I'm talking about and that I should reconsider my career choice, because I don't know what I'm talking about haha, that's why I'm here :)

But from what I've read about inpatient care as a PA specialty is that you deal with patients admitted to the hospital and examine them, order tests, diagnose, perform some of the more routine procedures that physicians need not be present for, treat patients (providing it is a relatively simple illness requiring a relatively simple treatment), write prescriptions (again, provided they aren't real risky prescriptions. In which case the supervising physician should be consulted), and some more. Is there any truth to this? Is this typical of what an inpatient care PA would do on a daily basis? If not, can someone give me a description of what they do do? What does a normal day look like?

If there is a specialty that's closer to that description? That job description sounds like what I am interested in so I don't know if maybe there is some other specialty that is closer to that description. I've heard of specialties like primary care and general practitioner, both of which sound like pretty broad specialties that would deal with patients suffering various illnesses. Maybe I'm thinking of one of those, or one of those would be a better match to the description above and be of more interest to me.

Thanks!