Hello,

I'm a new grad PA (started the program right out of high school) who just received a job offer for a hospitalist position with the details here:

40 hour week. Five 8 hr shifts a week. Overnight from Sun- Thurs 11pm-7am.

$85,000 base pay
$15,000 for overnight annual bonus. Would be taken away if I switched to days.

4 weeks PTO
1 sick week
1 week CME and $1500

Paid DEA liscense.  

I'm curious if I should ask for more base pay.  Any opinions?  Thanks! 

18 minutes ago, soccerfanatic14 said:

Hello,

I'm a new grad PA (started the program right out of high school) who just received a job offer for a hospitalist position with the details here:

40 hour week. Five 8 hr shifts a week. Overnight from Sun- Thurs 11pm-7am.

$85,000 base pay
$15,000 for overnight annual bonus. Would be taken away if I switched to days.

4 weeks PTO
1 sick week
1 week CME and $1500

Paid DEA liscense.  

I'm curious if I should ask for more base pay.  Any opinions?  Thanks! 

I'm pretty much against anything under 100k/yr, but I'm in the PNW so may have different expectations.

I know a large number of nurses who make 85/yr. Bedside nurses.

More importantly as a new grad with no HCE, what's your onboarding going to look like? Do you have back up and support? Procedures? Are you admitting or just doing cross coverage?

I'd mostly be doing cross coverage and only admitting when they "are desperate."   I want to do any procedures that come with that but not exactly sure on the opportunities.  I do not have any health care experience. The onboarding process would be about  4 months total. 3 months working with providers in the day then 1 month training with the night team. I would be shuffled around between all of the providers for this process. Support afterwards would be my coworkers at night. 

I requested a shadow day with the night shift providers and will be doing that next week. 

4 hours ago, soccerfanatic14 said: