Medical Insurance with 1099

Do any of you know if there are any health insurance companies or plans that are offered to health care providers for a cheaper rate, when purchasing it by yourself?

I left my full time W4 PA hospitalist job as a new grad a few months ago (I was there for not even a month). I had benefits with that position.

Now I am an independent contractor, making a lot more money, I set my own schedule, have tax write offs with the job… I have a full time job and also I work with a locum tenens agency to find other jobs per diem in urgent cares and etc. Fairly new with this 1099 life, but I am definitely happy with my decision.

Only issue is not having any benefits, and having to purchase it myself. I am trying to find the best plan, but one that is affordable and trying to compare my husband’s health insurance plan with one we might possibly get on our own. Any advice on what health plans have worked for any of you?

If you do not have a spouse to get insurance from then healthcare.com, or alternatively look into Christian Healthcare Ministries or other cost share plan.

You cannot simply pay your medical bills and write them off as a business expense.  Well, you CAN, but when the IRS catches you it's gonna suck.

https://smallbusiness.chron.com/can-business-owner-deduct-medical-expenses-65034.html

Being 1099 is a challenge. I have been doing it for 4 years now. Make sure to pay for a disability policy, life insurance, medical/dental/vision, retirement. etc. Basically anything that your employer used to pay for is now on you. Yes, you can write off a bunch of stuff, but to get this right you should have an accountant. My taxes are very complicated now with 4 clinical positions and a teaching position, some 1099 and some W2, so I would not think of doing this on my own. They take care of monthly out of state business taxes, quarterlies, etc. Also, an accountant is tax deductible. 

4 hours ago, Boatswain2PA said: