DUI, license issues, non-pa jobs I could consider?

Hi all! So heres the thing. I have gotten two DUIs in the past and YES I know that sounds bad and I brought it upon myself, but since the second I have completely turned over a new leaf, I barely drink anymore let alone drink and drive. Problem is, I graduated a couple months ago and am now having issues getting my license. They had me go to an evaluation and I was diagnosed with alcohol abuse, and in order to get my license I must agree to be abstinent from alcohol, go to AA meetings 2-4 times a week, probably some type of rehab, weekly drug tests, etc. Also I would have to have every job I get approved and I would not be allowed a DEA license. I decided to take legal action and appeal this, and It looks like it may be several months before it all gets squared away. I know I made mistakes in my past but I don't want to be labeled an alcoholic the rest of my life.

My reason for posting is, does anyone have suggestions on things I could do, jobs I could apply for while I am waiting for this all to work out?  Things people who have failed their boards have done? Any suggestions are welcomed, I just need some sort of income to start paying my student loans. I appreciate any responses, thank you! :)

• Administrator

Get over yourself.  You ARE an alcoholic, and yes, will be labeled that for the rest of your life.  You can go work elsewhere (Pharma is always hiring, I'm sure) non clinically, but the only way anyone ever is going to give you any sort of a license is if you say "Yes, I am an alcoholic" and demonstrate sobriety from here on out--Half the money I pay for my state license goes to monitor and supervise 'impaired' providers.  Mind you, I'd much rather keep my money and simply never license anyone with your background, but that's not my call.

Until you admit it, you're just one more alcoholic in denial.

Most of us on this board can drink 1-2 glasses of wine and NEVER have a DUI--let alone two.