Diabetic medication

Hi

I am new to the profession and would like some help on managing dm pt. my question is how much does the dm medication drop HBA1C:

Metformin, glipizide, actos, januvia, tradjenta, victoza

Also if i decide to put a dm 2 pt on insulin, how much hba1c would be drop and how soon can i expect to see result.

Thank you for all tour help in advance

does work provide you with resources? you need to have the ability to learn this very basic information outside of a non official chat forum. if you create hypoglycemia in a patient and he brings you to court it is not going to be ok if you respond "socialmedicine on the PA forum told me this agent lowers sugar minimally". If work does not provide you with anything I would personally purchase uptodate. Keep it for half a year or so .. print out articles of all the common conditions you treat. It is a bit pricey but you need to develop a foundation. The amount of blood sugar reduction depends on the medication and its dose. With insulin regiments you can work to control any hgb a1c. It does not sound like you get the fundamentals of insulin pharmacology. read, read, read.

Everyone is different, depends on how much beta cell function they have left, and the medication dose.

1 gram of metformin BID can drop an A1C 1%. Don't use if serum cr is greater than 1.4 in females, 1.5 in males.

DPP4s can drop it about 0.5%, GLP1s 0.5-1%. Sulfonylurias can drop it 0.5-1.0%. Welchol can drop it 0.5%, avoid in hypertriglyceridemia. Mixing them you wil often see a synergistic effect. Insulin depends on the type and how much insulin resistance there is, start low and slow and titrate up until controlled. Work with your SP until you are comfortable dosing these meds on your own, that's what they are for...

Everyone is different, depends on how much beta cell function they have left, and the medication dose.