How to deal with bad reviews

Hello, I need some advice on how to deal with bad patient reviews. I am a new graduate  working in family medicine for the past few months. I recently found a review where a patient was unhappy with timing regarding receiving information regarding results.  However, they felt it necessary to add whether I was qualified as a pa. I found this to be unnecessary given our visit was thorough and I addressed his concerns by ordering imaging.

In our office, we allow staff to contact patients with normal results for labs and imaging ( both were normal) which I sent to our front staff with explanation. Over the next few days, I had gone back and forth with staff messages regarding his concerns always responding within same or next day. However, apparently the delay ticked him off and he felt a bad yelp review was necessary. This is very discouraging given I am so new to the field and patients want to pick at any weakness. I worry about angry other patients and getting a poor online reputation. How would you deal??

Yeah, I had one like that too.  Personally, I just ignored it, because I did my best, and his claims were unfounded.  It did teach me to document each patient encounter very well.

Some things you could try:

1.  Let it go.  Seriously.  There's always going to be a few "customers" you can't get their order right, and that's life.  If they want to spew hatred instead of being a grown up, that's on them.

2. Discuss with your clinic administrator about this situation; one place I worked would respond to most Yelp reviews and offer an in person discussion with management.

3. Discuss with your legal department; there's undoubtedly an aspect of something the lawyers can use; this person may be maligning the practice as well as you.

4. Reach out personally to this cretin.  Not the way I would go, and would argue against it; much like arguing with a three year old.