PA teaching positions

First of all, welcome! I've been doing it part-time for 3 years or so, 2-3 days per week. I also have a clinical job usually a day per week.I love my job: hanging out with smart, motivated students and other faculty interested in doing a good job keeps me motivated. 

If you are going full-time, make sure you have benefits, maybe a 403(b) (the educational world's 401-k), and a release day for a clinical job. I endorse staying clinical because the balance keeps you in the game when you lecture, etc.

I work in a program where everyone is easy to get along with and has been there for several years. Staff turnover (and why) is a good thing to check into.

Also the accreditation status: if it's a new program on provisional accreditation, you will have lots of work to do for ARC-PA. If so, hopefully other faculty members have been through that successfully in the past. If the program is on probation, you need to know why as it will give you a clue as to whether or not they're going to make it. The PANCE rate is of interest, if only because it gives you a clue as to how much work will be needed to improve it.

Also the health of the overall institution: does it have the resources to support the program?

It's more or less like taking a job with any institution.

Good luck!

Good advice above.

I was a full time PA clinical educator from the spring of 2015 to the early winter 2017. 

One caveat from my situation is that everything is based upon my individual experience at one PA program. 

First, it is unlikely that your academic compensation will be similar to clinical. As pointed out, clarify any clinical time you get. Ensure that money is clear and free yours and that you do not have an obligation to practice clinical medicine in the academic venue with compensation through the university or college, eg, required shifts in student health or in a sponsored clinic.