Anxiety about practicing... Don't feel I've studied enough.

Guest ERCat

I am a second year student halfway through my rotations. In six months I will my graduating and getting ready to take the PANCE. All of a sudden this major anxiety hit me -- how in the world will I be a competent provider even with an SP? I am terrified.

Doing a rotation in the ED right now and am shocked at how much I don't know. The nurses seem to know more than me. Today I was asked to work on a stable a-fib patient and I didn't know what to do. At all. Now when I got home and read I thought "Hey, this is familiar, I knew this." But that is how all of my knowledge seems to be. I don't know what I need to know at the top of my head, confidently. I seem to look everything up and even then sometimes I am totally floundering.

To be totally honest I have not put in the dedicated study I need to for PA school. First semester I did study my butt off, but the second and third semesters were easier so most of the time I just studied for exams as they came up. There were many days I would just come home after school and watch TV if there wasn't a test that week. Makes me cringe just thinking about it. Even in the first half of my rotations I studied sporadically, too. I read some different things online about PA students not having a life and that's not me at all. I have had plenty of relaxing days in my PA education.