wait-listed

I'm 52, and just got wait-listed at the school I want to attend, got an interview and got wait-listed after the interview at my second choice school. I am SO bummed out! I think I'm an excellent candidate, and PA is really my passion: it's what I want to do for the rest of my life. It's hard not to wonder, does my age have anything to do with being wait-listed? If so, there's nothing I can do about that!

I have 2,000 as an EMT and an ER Tech, I have a 3.7 overall GPA, a 4.0 pre-req GPA, 80 hours of shadowing, great LOR, and a compelling story: my son was born with a tracheo-esophageal fistula, and esophageal atresia, and he is doing well now, but we have had a long journey in health care, and it's got me interested in medicine. Prior to being a mom, I taught high school Biology, before that, I was an organic vegetable farmer. I homeschooled my kids for 10 years, and now my son is better, and I'm ready for the next stage in my life. 

I honestly didn't consider the possibility that I wouldn't get in! I absolutely don't want to be a nurse, and RT, etc. I want to be a mid-level provider, and I am not giving up this dream, just really discouraged.

I'm in rural Vermont, with a family, so my options of schools are limited.

Your HCE could be improved upon. I'd like to say age doesn't matter but perhaps it does at the schools you're applying to. If you decide to reapply in the next cycle I highly recommend broadening your search and including schools with a higher average student age. Applying to only a couple of schools is risky for most people.

I also suggest contacting the programs you applied to and find out how you can improve your app(if you don't get pulled off the wait list).

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk