Looking for advice…

Hello All,

Looking for seasoned physician assistant guidance regarding my current position. Bear with me, lots of information following to set the stage. 

I've been a physician assistant working in emergency medicine for just over 3 years, currently employed at a small hospital just north of Boston, MA. The position I'm working at full time is also my first job out of school. When I started, our ED had just around 17 rooms, 8 hallway beds. Our PA group consisted of 7 PAs. Usually 2 mid-levels, 2 Attendings, +/- medicine intern from the hours of 7a-10p, transitioning to 1 Attending and 1 PA or intern on the overnight shift from 10p-7a.

Since starting, our ED has been under remodeling and has increased in size to 33 rooms, 12 hallway beds. Since January 2023, our provider group ownership (MDs and PAs) changed and many changes to the group and compensation have come with that.

First, two of our PAs (newest hires) were let go bringing the group down to 5. Two of the remaining 5 have left to start families/pursue careers in other specialties. We have a hired only 1 new PA since bringing the group total to 4. From the information we have been given by leadership, it does not appear that we have plans to hire any new providers. With the change, it has become increasingly difficult to take any time off, get shift coverage if needed, and we are now working longer shifts and more hours per month.