California area with good job market

Hello everyone !

Hope everyone is staying safe out there! I’m a new grad and looking to move to Cali. I know some areas in Cali are very saturated. Can you suggest some areas that I should be looking at where the job market isn’t saturated. I’m thinking Fresno or Sacramento so far.

Thank you for your responses in advance

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hello everyone !

Hope everyone is staying safe out there! I’m a new grad and looking to move to Cali. I know some areas in Cali are very saturated. Can you suggest some areas that I should be looking at where the job market isn’t saturated. I’m thinking Fresno or Sacramento so far.

Everything right now seems to be scarce because of covid but I've been seeing a lot of jobs in Modesto/Stockton area. Pretty much the dust bowl areas... Hanford, Fresno, etc.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

• Like 1
  • Upvote 3

5 hours ago, Joelseff said:

Everything right now seems to be scarce because of covid but I've been seeing a lot of jobs in Modesto/Stockton area. Pretty much the dust bowl areas... Hanford, Fresno, etc.

^Hit the nail on the head.  Less desirable place to live = more opportunities, better pay, and lower COL.  Bonus is if you're going into primary care, many sites in the valley are federally qualified healthcare shortage areas.

• Like 3
  • Upvote 2

Don’t even bother. Honestly it’s so saturated here for new grads you’d have to move way out to the middle of nowhere to find anything.

also, just a tip: people who live/born in California hate the word “Cali” 🙃

Edited by sam619
  • Like 2

I agree with others that mentioned looking in the Central Valley. Likely more opportunities with better pay and autonomy. Down side is that it’s hot and you have to drive 3-4 hours to get to beaches or major cities. Some areas in the Sierra foothills may be nice enough if you are into mountain sports. I would consider this if I were a new grad and not tied to family.