I know there are so many threads out there that discuss this, but many are outdated and I want advice based on current practice. 

I am REALLY struggling trying to decide which route to go. I am currently a new nurse who works at a great hospital on a surgical/tele floor (only 3 months in) and I’m already deciding my plan since I never really wanted to do floor nursing for a long period of time. 

Benefits to PA- the medical model, the more extensive and thorough training to prepare you, the job variability and ability to specialize more easily (I think I want to do surgery).  Also it seems like way more docs hire PAs then NPs (I see more PAs doing physician type things more often on our floor- maybe cuz it’s a surgical floor.) 

The reason why I don’t want to be an NP is because I don’t have much nursing experience and I feel like NP school won’t prepare me enough, from what I’ve been researching. I also want to be able to have more options to specialize in different areas like you can with PA instead of picking a speciality from the beginning. The nursing model also makes me want to jump off a bridge sometimes with all of the extra “fluff” BS. 

However, I am reading that PAs don’t have respect from many people (idk if that’s true) and the future for NPs looks a lot better than for PAs. Is this true? Having more respect and a better job outlook would be the only reason I pick NP over PA because I truly feel PA will prepare me more and give me better options to specialize. 

Thanks in advance!

Bias warning....

Go PA!

Some ppl will say go the other way for better legal standing. I think PAs are making some headway on that with a better AAPA board and OTP. Title change is also coming around. It's a good time to be a PA I think. But again this is a PA board. I'm sure you'll find differing opinions on allnurses.com.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

• Like 3
  • Upvote 1

Guest HanSolo