University of Tennessee Health Science Center (UTHSC) 2019-2020 Cycle

• 3 weeks later...

Hey all, 

One of my classmates told me about this forum today. I am a current first-year student, and I also help run UTHSC PA Program's social media accounts as I am class Historian! I just wanted to drop by and introduce myself. If you have any questions, feel free to reach out and ask! I will try to answer as much as possible. 

And to answer the question above, we were on probation, but we now have full accreditation until 2027! The probation status had to do with some faculty turn over, but we now have some of the BEST faculty out there who are really dedicated to us and PA education. If you don't know our program director, check out his podcast, the PAINE podcast. He is really well-respected in the PA community. 

Good luck on your applications and interviews! 🙂

Laura H 

Edited by LauraPAS
  • Like 5
  • Upvote 1

11 hours ago, Lifeline10 said:

Hey, @LauraPAS ! Thanks for chiming it. I do have one question, though. How much weight do you think the GRE holds in regards to application decisions?

GRE is important, as is GPA so do your absolute best on those. That being said, our admissions director - and faculty as a whole - are big believers in a holistic view. As long as you meet the minimum GPA/GRE requirements, your application is viewed for who you are as a person. We have GPAs/GRE scores that are near perfect and those that are on the lower end of the scale. If it helps, consider your application a blank slate after you meet the minimums - it doesn't matter much. I'm honestly not sure what the minimum GRE score is for us, but I feel like most schools aim for around a 300. If you are going to put extra time into either GRE or other aspects, I would stick to making sure you have a stellar personal statement/experiences. Show them who you are. Hope this helps. 

• Like 3