Teaching Charting

Hired a new grad NP and trying to teach him our computer system by having him scribe for me (this is how I've taught all new grads and how I learned the system).  He is having trouble with...  Charting.  Doesn't know where to put stuff (HPI, ROS, physical exam findings, etc.).  Some of this is being new to our EHR, but a huge chunk is just what I believe is a lack of experience doing his own charts.  Other than getting him more familiar with the EHR, any advice on how to teach providers to document stuff?

OPQRST - HPI is what I used and still use as this was the hardest part for me when I was a student. Now I do my ROS within my HPI.

As for PE, that should be standard stuff taught in school as well as ROS (asking questions). 

I am not sure what the NP is getting confused. Please give use and example or two so I can further understand and maybe to assist you. 

Mostly the problem is knowing which systems to document PE findings in (eg enlarged anterior lymph nodes under the lymphatic system vs. the skin system) and understanding how to document an HPI in the HPI component of the note.  Most of the problem has stemmed from the provider documenting HPI stuff under ROS and not really doing an ROS, just multiple HPIs (for the same problem).

So far the guidance has helped.  I'm trying really hard to be open minded about this provider and team player - if I'm not being generous, I'm hoping y'all will let me know.

Mostly the problem is knowing which systems to document PE findings in (eg enlarged anterior lymph nodes under the lymphatic system vs. the skin system) and understanding how to document an HPI in the HPI component of the note.  Most of the problem has stemmed from the provider documenting HPI stuff under ROS and not really doing an ROS, just multiple HPIs (for the same problem).