PA = resident?

I went on an interview today for an EM position at a level 1 trauma teaching hospital that has a residency program for mds and a pa program. During the interview, I was told that they like to consider pas as equal to the residents and I as a new grad would be considered a first year resident. In addition, the er is divided into three levels of acuity with fast track the least and critical care the highest. Because they have a residency program, only two pas are able to be working with critical care patients one day a week when residents have grand rounds. I was told the reason for this was that the residents need the training doing advanced procedures. I asked what procedures I would be expected to perform and was told the usual suturing, splinting, I&D, etc. thinking back on it, it doesn't seem like I would be equal if I have little exposure to higher acuity patients.

I understand that I am a new grad and there is going to be a large learning curve and that no position in any field will give me great autonomy in the beginning but I was a little disheartened by this, especially considering that they have a pa program. I guess my question is, is this standard in an er? How do pas feel about being considered equal to residents?

Well, i do understand your concerns but would be a good place to start. Spending a couple of years learning the basics while being able to watch residents and attendings..

Of course, if you are treated like resident then might as well go into a residency would make more sense though..

If they are treating you as a first year resident then I would run far away from that job because it's a joke.  PAs should be treated MINIMUM like a 3rd-4th year EM resident.  

First year residents don't do any procedures solo whereas 3rd/4th years are allowed much latitude to do things without the attending being in the room.  

In many places, first year residents are supervised by upper level 3/4 year residents.