I am appalled by this NP's post on allnurses

"The term physician does not belong to MDs or DOs exclusively. Don't get me wrong EVERY patient should not be miss led about your credentials but if I see a patient and state "I'm a nurse practitioner and will be the physician treating you", etc that should be acceptable... The argument about who can be called doctor, and physician I feel is rediculous. The only importance I see is the fact that every provider clearly states his credentials to every patient. After that if I have a DNP I should be free to be called doctor or physician and as an MSN-NP, called a physician" 

-Allnurses (http://allnurses.com/nurse-practitioners-np/the-term-physician-986253.html)

I don't know about you, but I have a really hard time understanding what they are trying to accomplish. Is it mass confusion? Do they want to be 100% equal to physicians? I'm trying really hard to improve my attitude towards our NP colleagues, but this makes it really difficult.

As an aside, I have a great NP PCP who doesn't agree with the online education, lack of standardization, and "independence" and she had 20 years experience as an ER nurse under her belt. She said if she could do it all over again she would have gone the PA route no doubt!

When the posting party can't spell ridiculous, practitioner, misled, or misleading (with today's common tools that autocorrect), or can't be bothered to use a simple tool like spell check, why would anyone consider their arguments regarding the use of the word physician anyway?

Personally, I agree with his/her premise... he/she just didn't articulate it well.

Physicians DO NOT OWN the word "Dr."

They just mind-F***ked all of ya'll into thinking that they do/... and/or theirs is the ONLY Doctorate Degree that is relevant/important in ANY and ALL healthcare settings.

I've said it before and I'll repeat one more time...