Reasonable salary for 50 hour work week (Ortho)

Just curious how common it is to have salary based on a 50 hour work week (This is Ortho). While I don't mind working 50 hours (5 x 10h shifts) OT doesn't start until after hour 50? I understand that Ortho tends to be heavier in hours but was surprised that the salary (while decent at around 94k but told its not flexible b/c its a 1199 union position) is based on a 50 hour work week and not 40... this makes the salary a lot lower per hour. 

I was informally offered a position (formal offer supposed to come on Monday) that is Tues-Fri 7a-5p and Sat Noon-10p (not thrilled about that) with 4 weekdays of OR (some ambulatory and some inpatient responsibilities) and 1 day of ER consults and Inpatient care on Saturdays. 

Just wondering if this is 1. normal and 2. decent salary for ortho. This is in NYC and I'm a new graduate with 5 years prior experience as an ATC. I've interviewed for ER and Transplant services at other hospitals that are 37.5 hour (3 days) and 40 hour (4 days) a week and have been unofficially offered 83 and 85k salaries. So 94k seems rather low for the extra hours and additional day. 

Thanks.

sounds low given the hrs.

why not take the er job at 83k for 3 days and then find a part time job 2 days/week at higher pay/hr? you would likely end up with more than 94k

if you really are interested in ortho then stay with that but if you don't care maybe look around...

that is approximately 36$ an hour. nurses make more than that with better hours. plus as a new grad you will probably be overwhelmed with all those hours. i would tell them to shove it

How is OT only after 50 hours legal if you're being compensated hourly?  I'm not aware of anything that allows that.  Overtime is after 40 hours in a week if you're an hourly worker.