Hello everyone!

I just got my first official job offer today (I'm a new grad) and wanted to get some opinions on the offer:

Pros:

-120 hrs/month at $65/hr (12 hr shifts)

-shift is in the fast track with the option to move into the main ED as I gain experience

-flexible scheduling (PAs make their own schedule and can work whenever as long as there is coverage)

-malpractice with tail

-relocation reimbursement up to 5k

-2k for CME

-disability and 401(k)

-good feedback on the job from a PA working there

Cons:

-No PTO

-No health insurance

-No match on 401(k)

Do the pros outweigh the cons? Should I hold out for a better offer?

Thanks in advance!

Emily

No insurance drops salary by $7 to $12 per hour depending on how good it is. No PTO is common in ER. No match is a big deal too and decreases salary. You are working for about $50 per hour or perhaps less if you buy insurance with after tax money. Odd offer. Almost like you are a contract worker not an employee.

I dunno...

I have done EM for decades, all in the southeast.

Have been IC and employee.

Have never had PTO, sick days, etc

I think 65 is pretty darn good for a new grad, even without health benefits. Knappy is right, health care will cost you ( until Obama mandatory coverage doubles your premiums) about 6k per year, which equates to about 3dollars per hour based on a 2k hour work year. So, to cover your own insurance, subtract 3-4 bucks/hr... 60-61 per houris still a darn good salary for a newbie.

If you are gonna be exposed to more than tots and twats, and will have a chance to learn EM, this is a pretty good offer.

IMHO, anything more is an unrealistic expectation for an unproven product.

Just saying.

Take it.

hi

congrats on your first job offer in EM as a new grad. if you don't mind may i ask what state the offer was in?

thank you

Hello everyone!

I just got my first official job offer today (I'm a new grad) and wanted to get some opinions on the offer:

Pros: