Question about Biochemistry Course

Hi everyone,

I just had a question about biochemistry courses. I noticed that none of the local community colleges or two-year institutions don't offer biochem courses so I was wondering if biochem is generally an upper division course. Also, if this really is the case then where can I find a course in biochemistry?

It is generally an upper division course, UNE offers an online Medical Biochemistry course which I took last year. The only thing that stinks is your final is the only grade in the course, but as long as you follow what he tells you and stay on track, its not bad at all. Takes alot of work especially since it is online and its a little pricey, but worth it. He is very good at following up with you on any questions you may have.

Taking orgo chem (which I am a tutor for at the local CC) will definitely increase your understanding of how things in the body work. You'll also be able to read and understand medication inserts. Orgo chem is the hardest science class you will ever take. Biochem is a ton of memorization. If you do a semester of each one then you'll come away feeling very confident in your knowledge of advanced biology & chemistry.

You'll also be able to read and understand medication inserts.

you can do this quite well without ever taking ochem/biochem. I have the highest grade ever in the history of my program in pharm(996/1000 points) and tutored pharm when I was a second yr student to the first yrs and have never taken either.

I will say it again. there is zero ochem or biochem required to do well in pa school. there is zero ochem/biochem on pance/panre.

some newer programs require these as a weed out mechanism but you won't actually use them in the program at all.