Goodbye student loans

Just wanted to share my experience in case anyone is thinking about taking the plunge...

As of today, no more student loans for me. 

I graduated in 2014, have been in practice for a little over 3 years now. Started out with roughly 120k in student loans, government and private. Have really just focused on paying the loans down for the last 2 years. My wife and I live in a smallish apartment and have been fairly good with our budget. Once we decided to tackle the loans we remained committed to make it happen. We obviously do not own a home but we are okay with this. I have been able to contribute to my employer matched 401k, nearly maxing out since I was eligible, while also maxing out my wife's IRA (doesn't have employer 401k). 

Every once in a while I see a topic on here about paying off student loans vs investing vs buying a home. Obviously, everyone's situation is different, but I will say it feels pretty damn good to have this weight lifted. It's definitely not easy, and I have to thank my wife for her support as we have avoided buying a home that we both want, and even put off having kids (until said home is purchased). In the end I have a strong opinion that it will pay off. Truthfully, I was kind of hoping that the housing market crashes during this time we have been saving to pay off these loans and we could jump in at the right time. Don't foresee this happening, but you never know. What I have come to realize is that renting is not all that bad. If we were to buy a home in our current market, a mortgage on a ~350-400k home would mean an interest payment probably around what we are paying for rent anyways. Spend less on a home and we would be blowing cash on repairs for a fixer upper. Just my opinion, but I feel like it is a wash and I would rather have the extra cash to save for loans then pay principle on a house. Now, with all the extra cash in our pockets we could make extra payments on a mortgage and pay off sooner.. maybe.