45+ patients/8 hour day in internal med?

My internal med rotation has a patient volume around 45 patients per 8 hour shift. This includes new patients, annual exams, etc. As a student, I'm bound to miss something in the 10 minutes I have with the patient. 

Anybody do a similar patient volume? This is more than I saw in the ED, for sure. These are not URI patients. These are diabetics with complications, patients with brain tumors, cirrhosis with ascites, COPD, CHF, etc. patients. 

That is insanity and poor medical practice.  Is this just you (student) and one internal medicine doctor?  You will learn very little, get stressed out, have scrambled eggs for a brain, and burnout before you graduate.   Talk to your program director asap.

29 minutes ago, TWR said:

That is insanity and poor medical practice.  Is this just you (student) and one internal medicine doctor?  You will learn very little, get stressed out, have scrambled eggs for a brain, and burnout before you graduate.   Talk to your program director asap.

Thank you for assuring that I'm not overreacting. Yes, it is just one internal med doc and I. I am unable to ask any questions and there is no feedback on how I am doing as we are zooming from room to room. I am disappointed with my school. This is my last rotation and I was interested in inpatient internal med, which is very much different than outpatient internal med. 

You are not overreacting, this is abuse (if you are working there) and poor patient care. I'd tell your program director and tell every PA you know not to work there.

IMO, 15 is the most you should see in true IM per day (and that's if you are experienced, not a student). Many private groups will see 20+, but it's a highway to burnout and medical errors.

What you are describing is simply wrong.

Many of us old timers on this forum have talked about our volumes at 20+ YEARS in the business.

There is no such thing as quantity in good medicine.