new job ... fair pay

Hello All,

I graduated school last august, started a job in September doing rural EM, clinic, hospital work.  Am now doing solo coverage of 2 rural ED's in the same network.  Work 4 10's, plus 5 nights of call and 2 24 hr weekend shifts / month.

Let me first say that this job is amazing.  Besides the fact that I work a lot, I get independence, support and respect at the facilities I work at.  

My main issue is that, when I was hired, I was not able to negotiate my pay at all.  I started at 84k / yr base salary plus call pay, which is 300/night and 600/wknd.  Now, 1 year into things, they are saying they I will not be getting a raise due to company financial reasons.  

I also have an opportunity to work in a fast track, much larger ED for 75/hr.  Probably less acuity and autonomy.  

My main question is this.  Being that I only have 1 year of experience, do you think this pay is reasonable and fair?  My main problem is that I am getting paid like a new grad, but it is not representative of my level of responsibility and value, in my opinion.  I am considering drawing a line in the sand, but I also love this job, the town, and my wife likes it here, too.  I just want to feel like I am being compensated fairly.

Thanks.

I see all kinds.  I see clinic patients and ER patients during the day.  As far as complexity, it is whatever walks through the door.  I do any procedures you would expect to do in an ED (intubation, chest tubes, suturing etc), and basic clinic procedures like joint injections.  

I don't want to overstep by asking for too much... but I also want to make what I think is reasonable for a position like this.  

I think for EM, regardless of location, it is borderline unfair.

Thing is, you have no leverage unless you have another offer on the table.