Hi Everyone,

I have recently become interested in the Physician Assistant career. Here is some information about me. I have a BS in Biochemistry, minor in Psychology 3.78 GPA, higher science GPA (maybe 3.9). I graduated in 2007 and since that time I have been involved in research at a University and at the National Institutes of Health as a Research Assistant and Clinical Research Recruiter. I was also just offered a position as a Research Coordinator at the National Institute of Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism. Thus, my experience has mostly been research and my interactions with subjects/patients has been research based not clinical.

I am interested in getting some clinical experience and working toward my clinical hours for PA school (some schools require 1000-2000 hours). I do not have any EMT or CNA certifications at this time. I also need a steady income to support myself. I was thinking of taking the Research Coordinator position and doing some volunteering at a clinic for underserved populations in my area in the evenings and weekend. Do you think this would count as direct patient care hours? In addition, what are some jobs that one can obtain patient care hours with out a certification as a CNA/EMT?

In addition, I think the Ambulance is volunteer in my community. Does that mean that I can become an EMT for free? Are volunteer EMTs volunteering after their job?

Please let me know if you have any thoughts, etc. I would greatly appreciate any help. I am also very interested in the PA/MPH dual degree. Are there any experiences that you think could help one get into a degree like that? In addition, I am interested in the National Health Service Corps Scholarship and if you know anything about that I am greatly interested as well.

Thank you for all your help.

Veronica

This is how CASPA classifies work on it's online form:

PATIENT CARE EXPERIENCE