Hi!

I'm new to this forum and desperately need the help of people who has knowledge of what it takes to become a PA! I'm a current undergrad student, a sophomore majoring in Global Public Health with a possible minor in Biology. I'm on the road to obtaining all my prerequisites, but I'm really struggling with the patient care experience hours needed. Most schools I'm viewing need 1,000 plus hours which seems insane to me. I feel like most of the jobs acceptable for direct patient care contact are things that need even more schooling, such as an MA or EMT. I've applied many places to become a Medical Scribe, or PT Aide but haven't heard back. Am I doomed to take a gap year after I get my bachelor's? I don't know how to get the needed experience without prior experience. I wrote on all my applications I'm open to complete volunteer work but still nothing. 

Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks. 

The PA profession was designed to take personnel with medical experience and put them in an expedited, rigorous, basic med-school with a fire hose program and produce medical professionals capable of autonomous and team-worked based medical care.  

The original PAs were military corpsman and medics, who obviously had a medical background, and were given a crash course in autonomous advanced patient care and treatment.

The 1000 PCE requirement, or even higher for some programs, is there to ensure that applicants have a basic understanding of healthcare which, in turn, bolsters chances of success in this intense program. Nursing, MA, paramedic, etc. experience allows for applicants to have a foundation.

To answer your question, a gap year is not only common but often encouraged. Licenses and certifications take time but, many MA and scribe positions will train you on the job. Do not get discouraged but understand that the 1000 hours is not insane but, as some would argue, necessary. 

Edited by Sw3605
  • Upvote 1

9 minutes ago, Sw3605 said: