Hey y'all so I am a sophomore in undergrad and in the process of just starting to get PCE, shadow, and volunteer hours and etc, but I am super stressed out because I am itching to start getting PCE hours except its so difficult while in school. I was thinking about becoming an EMT and working for 2 years after I graduate but I wasn't sure if being an EMT is considered PCE among most colleges, does anyone know? (I also tried to work as a caregiver over summer and that job isn't for me) 

Also, I'm trying to compile a list of PA schools to apply to, so if anyone has any recommendations for schools on the east coast please let me know! 🙂

EMT would count as PCE. Depending on if you're in a rig with a paramedic will decide how much you will learn. Some EMTs are basically BLS transport. Either way it will be PCE but still try to get the best experience. Id say become and EMT-a (or AEMT however they do it now) or hopefully get in a rig that has a paramedic. We have a couple EMTs in my class.

A better approach would be to get your EMT.  Some colleges teach it, which would give you credit and a good way to boost your GPA.  Otherwise, you can find classes at most vocational school.  Then, become an ED tech.  That will be much better experience than you'll get driving a private ambulance doing interfacility transfers.  

• Like 1
  • Upvote 2