What stethoscope should I buy?

Buy A Classic II SE. They are all good. 

You don't need an electronic for starts. 

That's my suggestion. I have been switching between Cardiology III and Classic II SE and i like them. For a learner a Classic II SE is good. You don't need to spend a whole lot of money for a stethoscope.

• 2 weeks later...

Buy A Classic II SE. They are all good. 

You don't need an electronic for starts. 

That's my suggestion. I have been switching between Cardiology III and Classic II SE and i like them. For a learner a Classic II SE is good. You don't need to spend a whole lot of money for a stethoscope.

actually just got the II SE for Christmas so that's all settled:)

I have been a forensic scientist in Firearms for 15 years and now my hearing is not the best (ruptured an eardrum on the left years ago).  I am seriously considering buying an electronic one now so I wont have the disadvantage I have already noticed working as an EMT.  I start school in a few months. I have a good basic stethoscope but I still don't hear well out of it or the other ones on the box (ambulance).  It may be the other noise that we have to mentally disregard but I have also noticed that I have a hard time even when I was shadowing and in a quiet office.  I find it hard to even get a decent blood pressure, let alone hear heart or breath sounds.  I hate to just keep trying because my PA or patient may lose confidence in me. The only electronic one I have seen is the 3100.  Does anyone have one of these and do they really help a lot?  Maybe I am just doomed to bad hearing.  Any ideas?

I have a Littman 3100 and enjoy using it. My ears are old (as is the rest of me) and it helps. I didn't get it until I was out working in cardiology; not sure what schools would think about having one.