1st year DO to PA?

I'm a first year DO student and have thought about switching to a PA program (my school has a PA program also). I don't even know if this is possible, and I'm sure I would have to start at year one. I have barely any HCE, didn't take A&P in college.  I'm doing fine academically, the reason I'm thinking about this is that I am beginning to realize that I can't really function well on less than 7 hours of sleep, and have no idea how I would survive residency. Any advice on this situation? 

I'm a first year DO student and have thought about switching to a PA program (my school has a PA program also). I don't even know if this is possible, and I'm sure I would have to start at year one. I have barely any HCE, didn't take A&P in college.  I'm doing fine academically, the reason I'm thinking about this is that I am beginning to realize that I can't really function well on less than 7 hours of sleep, and have no idea how I would survive residency. Any advice on this situation? 

If you think you're going to average 7 hours of sleep in PA school you have been terribly misinformed. You will get even less sleep as a PA student.  I'm a second year PA student right now, and I am currently averaging 100 hours a week on my surgery rotation. Stay in med school. It'll pay off.

Stay the course. OMS 1 & 2 are brutal. Once you survive basic sciences which are OMS 1& 2, OMS 3 & 4 aren't bad at all. Is like going to work except for when you'll be studying for the steps. For residency training, PGY1 & 2 are brutal. PGY 3 & up aren't bad. PGY 3 up - you're senior resident & responsible or helping to train intern/junior resident. The 60 + mandatory work hrs per wk doesn't apply across the board. It's important to note that it's residency program dependent (surgical vs non surgical specialty). Believe me, you'll be glad you stay the course at the end.

I am beginning to realize that I can't really function well on less than 7 hours of sleep

Wow.  Just wow.