Do you give back?

I am a pre-PA student applying this cycle. I have over 26000 HCE (mostly in the OR) and have worked with many PAs (years ago in the Navy).

Application - No problem.

LORs - Easy.

Grades and transcripts - Pfffff...no sweat.

Personal statement - Worst thing was cutting it down below the word limit.

Worse part of the application process? - Finding a PA to shadow.

I have reached out to NUMEROUS PAs asking them to allow me to shadow. Those that have bothered to reply so far have ALL refused due to time constraints, just not interested, or saying their practice, hospital, or organization did not allow it.

I live in NH, which you may or may not know is pretty rural, with only one medical school in the state, but with an abundance of NPs and PAs. However, it seems that every time I visit my FP, there is a prospective med student or NP student shadowing.

Following this forum, I do not seem to be alone with this problem, so my question to practicing PAs.....

Do you give back to the profession and reach out to those who would like to follow in your footsteps and do everything you can to allow the hopeful to shadow you?

Thanks!

Where in NH are you? Brigham & Women's Hospital in Boston accepts pre-PAs to shadow for a total of 8 hours. I have done one ED shift shadowing one of their PAs and it was amazing. The only downside is they have a policy against writing LORs which is a bummer. Send me a PM and I'll forward you the email address of their PA coordinator.

Where in NH are you? Brigham & Women's Hospital in Boston accepts pre-PAs to shadow for a total of 8 hours. I have done one ED shift shadowing one of their PAs and it was amazing. The only downside is they have a policy against writing LORs which is a bummer. Send me a PM and I'll forward you the email address of their PA coordinator.