Good Day To Be A PA

I live in a small town in a small county in eastern Iowa. When the Covid vaccines were getting ready to be released to the County Public Health department being on the local Fire Department I had a letter forwarded to me in regards to out First Responders being the first to receive the vaccine. Down at the bottom of the letter was a blurb noting that demand was going to outstrip the vaccination sites. It also suggested that a qualified medical person could apply to set up a satellite vaccination clinic. I'm a Physician Assistant and I applied and was approved. I was able to get all of our EMT/First responders first dose vaccinated two days after the county received the Moderna vaccine.30 days later all were given their second dose.

Fast forward to last week. The County Public Heath Nurse called me last week. She explained that the County I live only had one vaccination site. Walmart. The local medical clinics were not giving the vaccine. She said that if they didn't use 80% of their allotment  they would lose doses for the next week. She asked me if I would be interested in sponsoring another  clinic through the Fire Department. Hell yes I would. She called me Thursday and said she would make 30 doses available but they had too be given to 75 years old and up. She said if I could pull this off she would consider making doses available for this coming week. My wife and I opened the phone book and started calling the people that met the criteria. It was really satisfying to here the joy and relief in their voices that they were going to get a vaccine. We filled up our list in a hour. Most of these people had no access to a computer or the knowledge to go online and make appointment at the CVS or Walmarts. The people that did were driving 50 - 75 miles to the larger cities to get their vaccine. One couple I talked to who were in their 90's paid for a local private ambulance to take them for their shot.