I’ve been working as a PA for over 5 years. Over the past few months I’ve been feeling burned out. I have been having anxiety and second guessing myself a lot recently. I think this was triggered by a patient having a serious reaction to a medication I prescribed to her (nothing I missed just an unfortunate side effect). It has gotten to the point that I want to change careers as I don’t see the PA profession getting any less stressful. Just wondering if anyone has been through something like this? Any advice on less stressful or non clinical roles? Has anyone gone back to school and done something else after working as a PA? I’m very conflicted on where to go from here.

You will probably get a number of suggestions. I just want to say how you feel isn't uncommon. I'd even say it is very common and more so in recent years with the corporitization of health care and, now, Covid.

I was furloughed in March and subsequently my furlough ran out and they termed me. Before that happened someone on this board suggested I look into remote medicine. As of this writing I'm on the north slope of Alaska at a remote clinic. Very little administrative overhead. Small patient population. An environment where my opinion is respected and generally followed without discussion.

It suits me and resolves most of the things about practicing that made me crazy.

There is something else out there for you. You just don't know what it is yet.

• Like 5
  • Upvote 5

50 minutes ago, sas5814 said:

You will probably get a number of suggestions. I just want to say how you feel isn't uncommon. I'd even say it is very common and more so in recent years with the corporitization of health care and, now, Covid.